New member with some questions :)

uli169

Question

Hey everyone!

My name is Uli and I'm from Cape Town. I have recently decided to move back to Australia permanently, if possible.  When I first moved to Australia, I lived in Melbourne, specifically Brunswick. Loved the city, but I was on a Working Holiday Visa and needed to do the mandated 88 days of rural work. I moved to King Island and worked at the King Island Dairy cheese factory. Fantastic cheese and awesome little island! Seems like there were more cows than the estimated 1000 people on the island. I ended up liking the island even more than the city, so I staying there for just about 7 months before travelling Asia.

Since then, I've lived in London (didn't like it) and in Vietnam where I worked as an English teacher. I quite enjoy teaching, so I've decided to dedicate myself to that career. I am back in SA now and have applied to get my PGCE done through UNISA next year. This should have been done already but they completely screwed me last year due to the strikes.

Anyway, I've got a few question and would love to get some advice from you!

Does Australia recognise a PGCE from UNISA?

I have searched the forum but the threads only speak about degrees.

I currently have a B.Psych degree and can work as a counselor in South Africa. Counselling is on the Skilled Occupation list, so this is another option I have when applying, assuming that I would be recognised as a counselor in Australia too. Does anyone have experience with this?

Which option is best or could I apply more than once using the two different routes?

I also hold a German passport. Would it be easier applying with that passport or is there no difference? The Australian government seems to like Germans more as Germans are able to go over on the Working Holiday Visa.