My family

ChrisH

Hi guys,

So I've actually posted in a couple of threads, but haven't done an official introduction.

My wife and I (married for 5 years) recently had our lives changed forever with the birth of our son in May.  I've always toyed with the idea of emigration but it has never actually part of any plans until now.  I cannot stand the thought of my kids going through a hijacking or house breakin or some of the things you see in the news on a daily basis.  Don't even get me going on education.

I'm a Software Engineer with 12 years experience and my wife is an IT Project Manager with about 3 years experience (she was a BA before so the experience is mixed).

We're currently in the process of applying for our 189 Skilled Independent Visa based on my skill set.  I am re-writing the Pearson test this week hoping to achieve 70 or 80 points in total as my occupation code has recently been put on the pro-rata list and you now need 65 points minimum to apply.  I'm going through an agent for our application process.

If the Pearson test goes well this week we'll refile our EOI for the first round in August.  

Thanks for all the advise so far guys.  

• Like 5

I'm also a software engineer and recently completed the entire process, due move across to Oz at the end of the year. I first wrote IELTS and sucked at it. Wrote Pearson and aced it. It seems some people do well in the one and other in the other. If you have the cash to spare, I can suggest writing both if you are aiming for 20 visa points from English test.

Good luck and let me know if I can help with anything.

• Like 1

Thanks @vitchie.  I'm sure I'll be fine this time round.  I scored full marks for everything except Speaking which I got 55% for so the entire test is technically failed. :mellow: