CANBERRA WORK SITUATION?

Glenno

Hi All,

We are aiming to move to Canberra in January 2014 and I was just wondering how easy or not it is to find work?

My wife is a beauty therapist and my background is Sales and Client Service. I will be quite happy to take on work from any decent company and am not to phased about finding any specific job.

But I would just like to find out what your experience has been in finding a job on arriving in Canberra? (i.e how long did it take?, did you have to go for loads of interviews etc?)

thanks a mill.

All I know about Canberra is that its very government focussed and tends to lean employment for the better jobs to citizens. Maybe other can give a view of how they employee there.

My line of work is within Multinational Medical and Pharamceutical companies, they are going through a tough time globally, but they cant be government specific positions, A few jobs pop up a month, Plus I think I am upto date as to how tough thing are in this arena, I have been through numerous restructuring processes here and survived them all, .i am ready for the fight

• Like 1

Oh and get into the boat before you start bailing water, there might not be a hole after all, lets get there with our chins up and be ready to face Anything if need be.......swim with lead boots if we have to, I am not turning back, i'll mow lawns with my teeth if i have to, I've had my fair share of construction site work as a labourer in London in Mid winter, bring me the alternate work that nobody wants to do, if it means buying time and clearing your head for the right opportunity then i want it.......no room for failure here, my family relies on me making or breaking this, RSA is no place to go back to because I dont feel like getting my hands dirty.........lets all harden the xxxx up a bit

• Like 9

Good post, will follow it as we also looking at Canberra around Jan 2014 but different industries...

• Like 1