Counselling/ Psychology

leeatedinburg

HI all I am looking for advice please, We have our visa`s and are making plans to move ASAP, In SA I am registered as a registered Counselor with the HPCSA, I have a honors degree in psychology and a post grad in Trauma counselling and accredited as a registered counselor under our board. My question is how do I find out what I and able to work as In Australia or what type of work I would be considered for, would I need to get my qualifications assessed by the Psychology board to be able to work? I have over 12 years of counseling and management experience. Any advice or guidelines would be hugely appreciated please. 

Hi

My husband is a registered psychologist in South Africa and has not been able to register in Australia.  Registration is a complicated process and they recognise some South African training and others not.  He also has to pass the English test and show proof of the hours of supervision he received 20 years ago during his internship.  He kind of gave up trying to get registered.  However, I wanted to give you good news.  He found a job without being registered.  He works as a "therapeutic practitioner" and does psychology type work.  There are many levels of psychological services available here, and therefore also lots of more  admin type jobs that still require a psychology background, but not necessarily registration.  It was not easy finding the job, with no local experience and not being registered.  There is also fierce competition for these kinds of positions. 

It is not cheap but the easiest route might be to do a masters degree in Australia, then you would more easily be able to get registered.

• Like 2

https://www.seek.com.au/job/37844173?ref=applied

Community Support Worker

Interact Australia LtdMore jobs from this company

Community Connectors Wanted!

ABOUT US