Yolandie

Hi all

Just joined the forum! :D

I am an attorney and my hubbie is a plumber. We have two awesome kids who are 7 and 9. My sister in law is in Melbourne and after years of hard work and struggling just to get by, we decided we are ready to pack up and start again in a country where tradesmen are still appreciated and our kids have a future.

Now that the mind shift is solid to start over in Oz, I am so excited yet frustrated and impatient to start our next chapter.

My hubby is a plumber (main applicant on 189 visa) and doing his skill assessment in Cape Town on 13 Sept and we are writing IETLS on 30 Sept.

He needs to get at least a 7 to get his 60 points. Any tips please? I have read posts here and it seems a bit daunting.

Is the skill assessment for a plumber difficult?

We have our passports ready and unabridged birth certificates for kids. Are unabridged birth certificates for me and my husband also required. I still have my original marriage certificate. Should I rather apply at Home affairs for an unabridged marriage certificate as well.

We send our police clearance requests to Pretoria yesterday. We will book our medicals once our EOI is submitted. Am I forgetting anything important that can cause a delay.

If everything goes well and we can submit our EOI in mid October, how long will the VISA take. Will we be able to spend our first Christmas in Melbourne!

And then: Will he easily find work as a plumber? At this stage I am not thinking about converting my law studies. Will I be able to find some admin position?

This forum is brilliant to know that other people can support and help you through this "life changing" process.

Thanks Mates! LOL

• Like 1

Hi Yolandie! Welcome and good luck with this new adventure

Yes you will need unabridged certificates for you and you husband. Get unabridged marriage certificate just in case. Some have needed it, we have not

i suggest you get on that right away, there could be a serious delay with this