On our way to Adelaide

BineMelanie

Hi,

I just wanted to introduce myself, I'm a Business Analyst and am a mom to 3 children, age 12, 8 and 7. My husband is an IT Manager.

We decided 2 years ago to start the process and eventually lodged the application in September 2015. We got confirmation that our visa was granted on the 20th Jan.

We applied for a state sponsorship so we are going to Adelaide and the plan is to land around April 2016. 

I have trolled thru most of the post and the advice going thru the process have been a great help. We joined a get together in Pretoria last year and that helped a lot to hear from other people and their experiences.

Now we have to start packing up and make all the arrangements. I must honestly say .. I haven't been this scared in a long time.

Must say moving my oldest child seems to be the most problematic as she has lots of friends here and doesn't want to move and leave them. My husband's family is also against the move so that makes everything a lot more difficult.

So now for the next step... a big leap of faith.

Regards,

Melanie

HI Melanie

Good luck with the move and getting your family to Australia. I am in a similar position as you as I have a 15 year old step son who doesn't want to leave his friends, however I am in a slight advantage as I took the family to Australia last year December for a holiday and the kids loved it. 

We visited the gold coast and I took the kids to Movie world, Sea world and Water World and they could not get enough of it. 

While your 12 year old may not see the advantage of moving to Australia now, she will one day be thankful that you did. 

If I were you, I would show them these awesome theme parks in Gold Coast and then promise to take them there one year for a holiday once you are settled:

http://seaworld.com.au/

http://movieworld.com.au/

http://wetnwild.com.au/

Good Luck

Brad

Adelaide is awesome! :D