Lodging Expression of Interest

PhatMyles

Hi all

Firstly I want to thank every one on this forum for freely sharing information that have made step 1 a breeze for me. I just received my Positive Skills Assessment from Engineering Australia. It came out as I hoped it would, where they recognize all my years experience, allowing me 15 points, and recognizing my qualification as equivalent to a 4 year Bachelor Degree, allowing me to claim 15 points there as well. So I will be lodging with 65 points. I think I will be on the skillselect system by the February invitation rounds. I now have a few questions.

1) the EA letter says my occupation is Engineering Technologist, with ANZCO Code 233914. It is on the SOL. However my Bachelors Degree and experience is in Mining Engineering, and wanted a 189 as Mining Engineer (Excluding Petroleum) which is also on the SOL. Should I lodge as Engineering Technologist, as the letter says, or as Mining Engineer?

2) Do I need to have ready the documents of dependants, who are the secondary applicants in this case? i.e. passports, birth certificates, etc? My wife doesn't have a birth certificate, but has a passport. can that cover?

3) Can I go ahead and apply for the dreaded Police Clearance Certificate before receiving an invite, or do I need to wait for the invite, or for when a CO is assigned after invite?

4) Can I go ahead and do medicals before invite or do I need to wait for invite or start application?

Thanks. 

Congratulations and jubilations! Well done :ilikeit:

Hi PhatMyles,

I believe it would be a safer bet to submit your EOI as Engineering Technologist, just in case DIPB feels there is a discrepancy / error. There is nothing stopping you from applying for jobs as a mining engineer once you land in Oz.