Skilled Visa 189 - Points Test - Degree question

Hi

Can anyone help me with this question:

I am an professional Electrical Engineer with a B-Tech degree. On the points test, do I get the following points;

At least a bachelor degree from an Australian educational institution or other degree of a recognised standard - 10 Points

or do I get this:

An award or qualification recognised by the assessing authority in the assessment of the skilled occupation - 5 Points

Thanks

Dewald

Hi Dewald123, I would recommend that you send your qualification to Engineers Australia to have it recognised by them, and then you take it from there. If you're immigrating to Australia you will have to do it at some time anyway. It does take a bit of time though.

Hi Dewald

From what I understand and did, you should receive 15points as I have snap shotted below from the 'skill select booklet 6' from immi.gov.au . This is after you have been accredited by Engineers Australia, and then you can do your EOI via skill select and claim your 15points if accredited.

You have met the requirements for award of at least a: = 15 points
• bachelor degree, by an Australian educational institution; or
• bachelor qualification, awarded by an overseas educational institution of a
recognised standard.

In terms of getting accredited, I suggest downloading the MSA (migration skill assessment) user guide from the EA website and take a read through and see how you can get accredited.

Engineers Australia (EA) offers Migration Skills Assessment (MSA) for applicants intending to apply for migration to Australian via the Points Test Skilled Migration scheme. There are five pathways of assessment. They are as follows:
1. Competency Demonstration Report (CDR);
2. Accredited Australian Qualifications;
3. Washington Accord Qualifications;
4. Sydney Accord Qualifications and;
5. Dublin Accord Qualifications.

What I did and his pretty straight forward was the Washington accord path way.