Engineering Skills Assessment

HayleyErasmus

Hi

In the process of gathering documentation for my Chemical Engineering Skills Assessment, Just wondering if anyone has recently applied through the new online MSA system with Engineering Australia and how long it takes?

I have a BSc Eng (Chemical) from UKZN (2005) and the only documentation I need to send is:

1. Degree certificates and transcripts
  2. Passport
  3. English test results

Is this correct?

Do you need to be a member of the Engineering Council of South Africa?

It just seems a little to simple ?1?

Hi @hayleyerasmus

I submitted online in November via the online system, can't remember what all you needed, but if I remember correctly, you also had to upload a copy of the CV but just follow the MSA applicants users guide that you down load from the EA website, it's straight forward.

unfortunately it's a slow process, the website quoted 8weeks, but when I called them after 8 weeks, they said 11weeks, I eventually got it after 17weeks, but with no hassles, I just think they are snowed under.

And no, you don't have to be a member of ECSA, as long as your degree from your university is recognized by the ECSA, then it is recognized by the Washington accord, then you can apply via that route which is much simpler.

Good Luck

Edited by HHH
  • Like 1

Thanks for the response. Did you also get your years of experience (purpose of claiming points) assessed by Engineering Australia?

Sorry for all the questions - but not using an agent for our application so just wanting to ensure I have done all that is required.

Hi, yeah, think that was the purpose of sending the CV, didn't do anything seperate, just applied for Washington accord accreditation. But as far as I know the DIBP whom evaluate your visa submission rely on EA's accreditation of you and then obviously look at your letters of employment as proof of years work experience when you load your visa application. Hope this answers your questions.