Difference between CSOL and SOL

turbotwink

Hello everyone

Could anyone maybe help me understand the difference between SOL and CSOL?

My fiancé and I are hoping to make the big move with a 489 visa with an eligible family member sponsoring us. But at the moment I am a bit confused as to which skills list can be used for this visa.

I am an attorney so my profession is on SOL but I have heard that you have to be admitted in Australia as an attorney for this to be considered. I am also not sure I have enough experience in this field.

Fiancé' s occupation as a Sales and Marketing Manager, however, is on CSOL. He also has more than enough experience.

Does anyone know if we can use his occupation to apply for a 489 visa. Otherwise, can I use my occupation, even though I am not admitted as an attorney in Australia?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

SOL is the list of occupations in demand for the independent 189 visa and CSOL is the consolidated list of occupations, which are less in demand which are for any other points-based visa like the 190 state sponsored for example.

Not sure about the requirements for your occupation, but if his occupation is on CSOL, maybe consider state sponsorship if the state you want to go to has his occupation on the list. Otherwise consider employer sponsorship on a 186/187 visa if he can secure a job and have them sponsor him. Both are permanent residency visas which is much better than the 489!

Have a look at www.skillselect.gov.au for a break down of all the visas

Edited by sianvz

Ok so I don't know if this answers your question but here is some related info....

The SOL is a list of skills that are in shortage all over Australia. The CSOL list is a list of skills that are in shortage in certain states, more research will tell you which states are looking for that skill. If you go on a CSOL skill you have to live in that state for a 2 years. If you go on a SOL skill then you may go anywhere in Australia.