Hi, We`re new

Chelsea

Hi Everyone,

My fiance and i have finally started the process of applying for immigration. We`ve known for a very long time that that`s what we want to do, but somehow just never got round to starting the application.So here we are!

I have a sister and brother-in-law in Brisbane, another one following in June, and the aim is to get my parents over too... ASAP.

My fiance is an electrician by trade, but has had his own company for the past 6 years, specializing in metering services. If anyone has any advise for us regarding the choice of visas etc - please send it!

Can anyone tell me, would I (as the dependant) also need to do the IELTS test, or is it only applicable to the main applicant?

Thanks everyone ;)

Hi Chelsea and welcome!

If youa re applying for PR the main applicant and any dependant over the age of 18 (I think) will need to do the IELTS test.

Good luck with you application prep!

Nats

Hi

On PR Visa all persons over 18 must write IELTS test.

On 457 Visa, only the main applicant needs to prove english proficiency (letter form high school or university stating you studied in English).

457 is the fastest wa and cheapest way in... then apply for PR...

Thats my route anyway

:cry:

Hi

On 457 Visa, only the main applicant needs to prove english proficiency (letter form high school or university stating you studied in English).

457 is the fastest wa and cheapest way in... then apply for PR...

Thats my route anyway

B)

Sorry guys, but that info is not correct. The secondary applicant doesn't need to write the IELTS IF they completed 5 years of secondary schooling in an English medium school, or if their primary and at least 3 years of secondary education was in an English medium school.

Welcome to the forum and best of luck with your application.

Hi Chelsea

First of all, a warm welcome to the forum.