Gyeongbokgung Royal Palace

Guest Seoul Sister

Guest Larry

Thanks for sharing. - That is great!

Although I am a civil engineer, I still feel that their architecture in some way "defines" a people.

FYI Architects and civil / structural engineers are renowned for taking friendly "digs" at each other.

Guest Jules

Hi SS :whome:

Thanks so much for sharing, the palace is beautiful! :ilikeit: Do you know when the palace was built? It's always interesting to me comparing the Western style of architecture with the Asian. Larry, you are right, it's amazing that the architecture seems to define a people. There are practically no Western influences and I love the intricacies and attention to detail.

Love

Julie :whome:

Guest Seoul Sister

Hey there,

The Gyeongbokgung palace was originally built for the Joseon Dynasty in 1394. Some of it was destroyed during the Japanese invasion in 1592, and rebuilt in the 1800s, only to be devastated again, again by the Japanese during their occupation from 1910 - 1945. During our visit to the palace we were shown where the Korean Queen was killed in her palace by the Japanese. No love lost between the Koreans and the Japanese and when you learn about the Korean history, you can see why. :lol: The palace was completely renovated and restored in 1996.

The most beautiful thing of Korean Traditional Architecture, is the way they paint the wooden structures. It's all very colourful, in contrast to Japan, where everything is very formal and plain. Very interesting as the contrast is exactly the same between the two nations ! The Japanese are like the British, very formal, controlled, emotionless and rigid, while the Koreans are the "Italians of Asia" colourful, loud, vibrant and full of passion and emotion. :oops:

Love

SS

;)

Edited by Seoul Sister

colourful, loud, vibrant and full of passion and emotion. :oops: