Same old same old...

Guest colton

Guest colton

I am sure you have ALL heard the same thing over and over but this is my FIRST time experiencing it and it is making me livid :huh:

I'm talking about those people who offer their "advice" on your immigration plans and how they all know "someone" who immigrated but didn't make it and how unhappy they are there, etc. etc. If anyone knows who this "someone" is could you please tell them to butt out of my life. I was generally a well liked person in my community, active in my church, kids schools, sports clubs, etc. but since people have got wind of us leaving attitudes have changed and we have become outsiders.

As I have mentioned in previous posts we have been to Oz twice and travelled internationally quite a bit so we are well informed of the facts as far as immigration is concerned. We have made the decision to immigrate based on facts and no-one's opinions to the contrary are going to change our minds. Why I am so mad is because now we aren't invited to socials, my daughter has had her lead role in a dance routine taken away, my son wasn't invited to a weekend away with his "mates", my hubby's boss is sulking and making his life hell, my one sister-in-law phoned and said she wouldn't be wasting her money on phone calls to us anymore because there is no point in trying to keep up the relationship if we are leaving.

What is wrong with this picture? I think they are just jealous because they can't go and we can, but still it hurts and I now want to lie when people ask if we are leaving. I know you have all experienced it in some way but to me it is a first and I really wasn't prepared for this reaction. :) I really thought "not us", everyone likes us, boy was I wrong!!! :blink:

Oh dear...I know the feeling...sometimes some of them change their attitudes.... :blink:

Guest Larry

I think that these people are trying to prove to themselves that their decision to stay is the right one.