Decision to immigrate to OZ?

Rudi

My name is Rudi and my wife's name is Marlene. Our son will be born on 31 May 2006. I have a MBA from the University of Southern Queensland (2005) and my wife has a Bcom degree (Accounting) and completed her articles. I'm 35 years old and my wife will turn 34 in June 2006. I'm currently a manager in the South African Government (16 years experience). Despite my efforts to develop myself and applying for various senior management positions it seems as if the South African affirmative action programs are not going to recognize my skills and competencies. Future job prospects for white males in South Africa, especially in managerial positions, are becoming more and more difficult by the day. I have 25 years left to be productive and build up a good retirement support system for myself and my family. I'm specializing in human resources and have experience in most of the HR fields. I also have international human resource management experience. My intention is to imigrate to Australia, no specific city in mind.

Is Australia really a country of opportunities and have South Africans access to jobs? In South Africa we only hear about the misfortunes of returning South Africans and not the success stories. I understand that one would have to start over and again climb the corporate ladder. I have many more questions but would add them as I get guidance from the South African "Australians".