Hello there

janine K

:ilikeit: Hello to all forum users.

My name is Janine, and my hometown is Hillcrest, KZN. My husband and I have plans to leave SA in a few years and want to start the ball rolling to relocate to Aus. We have family in Toowoomba, Queensland, so want to be close to them. What should we start to do? I am a nurse, he is a QS and we have 2 young kiddies.

Welcome to the Forum Janine

Get your passports up to date make sure they will still bevalid for your planned departure date. Apply for Full birth certificates for all mambers of your family, these are the ones that show parents names etc.

Start collecting all documents you have such as marriage certificates, Qualifications etc.

Visit www.immi.gov.au and download visa application forms and check requirements

Start to apply now go for the Permanent Residence visa - (Skilled Migration)

once you hand in your forms it can take 1 - 2 years to process and once you recieve your visa you have to visit Australia within 1 year and moe here within 5 years of date of issue so its worth getting going with applying ASAP.

Good luck

Des

Hi Janine,

Depending on how you get there, it could take as little as 3 months, or as long as 2 years.

The best advice I can give you is to start asap, and to get unabridged certificates of everything like marriage, birth etc, bearing in mind with our home affairs it can take a LONG time.

All the best and good luck! :ilikeit:

John.

Welcome Janine!

Not much I can add, Des and John have mentioned the important things.

We plan to only go over in 2 years time, so we're getting passports sorted, unabridged birth and marriage certificates and will be booking our IELTS test for hopefully Jan/Feb next year. Go to the immi website and have a read there, it'll tell you everything you need to have in order to submit your application.

Good luck!

Michele

Hi Janine