Retirement annuity - is it taxed in RSA and Australia?

Go RSA

I can now get an income from my Retirement annuity as I am over 55. I emigrated 17 years ago.

The options are to:

• take an annuity on the full amount, or
  • take 1/3 cash and the rest as a monthly annuity.

Does anyone know:

1. What tax will be payable in Australia for the annuity and, if taken, the capital amount?

2. What tax deduction will be made in South Africa?

I look forward to your comments and guidance.

Let me start off by saying I have no practical experience in this cross country ra and my little knowledge of the Aus tax system is just enough to be dangerous, but heres my attempt:

Article 18 of the double tax agreement says : Pensions and annuities from sources in one contracting state and paid to a resident of the other contracting state shall be exempt from tax in the firstmentioned contracting state to the extent that such pensions and annuities are included in taxable income in the other state. . Now the way my boere-english understands this: all though SA is the true source of your annuity , you will not pay tax in SA (only if your general rate of tax in SA is higher than in OZ you will pay in SA).

NOw this in itself is weird, normally you first pay tax where the source is, and then if the second country has a higher tax rate, you just pay the difference in percentage to the second country.

Then just on your 1/3 lumpsum - we were suppose to have changes 1 Oct 2007, but its been quiet and I think this changes will only now start in March 2008. It used to be that only R120,000 of your lumpsum was exempt and the rest was taxed on your average rate of tax. Now it is going to be - first R300,000 no tax, then from 300,000 to 600,000 its 18%, then from 600 000 to 900 000 its 27% and above 900,000 its 36% . The company of your ra will know exactly when this comes into place.

So thats how SA will treat your lumpsum, but I have no idea what Aus is going to do.