Living costs for single person

MichaelvdBerg

Hi there,

I have been doing some research on whether I will be able to live on the salary that I will probably be earning in Aus and was hoping to get your opinion on whether I'm accurate or not. I based these calculations on average prices I got from online shopping etc. I'm going to be in Oz alone without family so I'm planning this to be as accurate as possible.

(please note that I'm a noob with things such as tax etc)

A software engineer with my experience, which I gathered from all of the job search websites such as SEEK, averages about $90000pa. Using the tax calculator on http://www.ato.gov.au/scripts/taxcalc/calc_standard_hire.asp

leaves about $5,459.00 after tax

Now for the estimated expenses in Sydney per month:

Food $500

Rent $1200

Electricity $70

petrol $200

medical $100

car loan $500 - - not too sure on this one

Internet $90

Insurance $100

Telecoms $50

play money $400

TOTAL $3160

and leaves about $2000 saving money??? this is like twice as much as i can save in SA!..

There must be something wrong since this is too good to be true

What did I miss? I'm sure there is something big

Regards

Michael

Edited by MichaelvdBerg

Hi Michael

I'm not in Aus yet, but I would suggest that you read through some of the other threads, in particular this one. If you browse through the Money forum you should find some other helpful posts. Sorry I can't be of more help!

C'Lou

(PS happy saving)

Rather use the individual tax tables at www.ato.gov.au

For a Gross Employment Cost of A$90,000 p/a (assuming super is excluded), your tax works out to $23,100 p/a which means you take home A$66,900 p/a or A$2573 every fortnight (2 weeks). Which is roughly equal to the A$5,459 p/m you calculated. But it's common here in Australia to be paid every 2nd week.