Tjaart: Hi, Queensland or bust

Octavius

Howzit, I'm in the process of applying for permanent residence. Just waiting for Unabridged Birth certs. Everything else incl. skills assessment done. I'm now a Pr. Eng. in Australia and my wife can teach sec. school.

Problem I have though, is do I start applying for job now or wait for residence visa. Obviously if I resign out of my current job I have no chance of getting it back, if residence is turned down.

Although I have enough points for the Visa, I'm worried about the medical. My wife has degenerative eye disease (Stargardts disease) and my one daughter (7 yrs old) has 40% hearing loss. Wonder if anybody has experience with something like this. Some advice would be great.

A little bit about myself, I'm 38 turning 39 in August, my wife is 36 and we have two daughters 7 and 9. We're planning on going to Brisbane, if everything works out. I have scanned the net for jobs and it seems ok. I'm an Electrical engineer with 12 yrs. System Operator experience.

Cheers

Tjaard

I personally would not resign until you have the PR stamp in your passport don’t burn you bridges. I have PMed you some info as well.

You could also speak to Ettiene Hugo he is an immigrations Lawyer. Pippa has been recommending him highly he possibly could give you some insight into the whole situation. I suggest you Pm her for his details.

Edited by sonnetjie

Agree 100% with Sonnetjie!!!

I have also sent a PM. Our son has Stargardst and it would be good to keep contact. We in Australia on a 457 Visa and their might be a couple of options I have elloborated on in the PM.

Cheers

Rialet

Hi,

We have recently moved to Brisbane on PR.

Our timeline was 10 months to the day from date of submission to date of approval. (this was after skill assessments etc).