School Systems in Australia

Pippa

Dear SAAustralia Friends,

I need your help.

Someone has recently told me that the schools in Australia are much worse than in South Africa. Although my logic tells me that it cannot be as bad, I am concerned.

One of our main concerns in South Africa is the schooling system and that it does not work at the moment. I am not an expert on this topic, but would like to know what school system Australia is using.

Is the school system also outcome based as in South Africa?

I really look forward to hearing from you.

Have a great week!

Pippa

Guest Seoul Sister
Someone has recently told me that the schools in Australia are much worse than in South Africa.

One of our main concerns in South Africa is the schooling system and that it does not work at the moment.

Hi dear Pippa,

This is a very interesting question ! Could you please explain to me what you mean by Australian schools are worse. In which sense did they mean this - discipline, curriculum, standard of teaching, choice of study materials or maybe just in general ? I'm not asking to be a pain, I just want to try and answer your question as factually and objectively as possible and so I want to be sure that I understand the question correctly. Do you mean that a child from a South African Public school (like e.g. Menlo Park Laerskool) would be better off staying put than rather joining children at an Australian public school ? (according to the ppl who gave you their insightful opinion ;) ) I don't want to go into all kinds of international test results, etc (and maybe bore you to tears) :thumbdown: if you are actually talking about discipline, or some other factor..

Looking forward to having a chat on this ! B)

Love

SS

:holy:

Dear SS,

Thank you for your willingness to respond to my question. I was informed by a family member (who is, by the way, totally against our plans to move to Oz) that the curriculum is not up to date and "behind" the South African school system.