Apple vs PC

Pippa

Hi Everyone,

As mentioned before, my husband and I are in the market for a new notebook, which we are planning to buy once we set foot on the lucky continent!

We initially considered a PC (Sony VAIO VGNSZ483NC to be specific), but were recently told to rather opt for an Apple Macbook :ilikeit: . I am no graphic designer, but my husband loves editing our personal home videos…. :ilikeit:

I believe one can now operate Windows on an Apple Macbook… :ilikeit:, but is is user-friendly? Can one Skype with a Apple Macbook or do you need a PC for Skype?

My ultimate goal with a notebook is to visit www.saaustralia.org, Skype my family and friends, writing emails etc.

I know that there are a few computer experts on the forum and would love to get opinions and suggestions.

Please help.

Bye, Pippa! X

Hi Pippa

I have sent you an email, with a contact name and email address, who would be able to give you good advice!

hey Pippa

In my opinion, stick to Microsoft. Im not a Microsoft junky (Everything I do does not involve Microsoft), I uses Fedora 7 at work and home (newest version of redhat linux) and I am quite happy with it. But going from one Operating System to another takes time and effort and Im sure your up for that, but when you arrive here, you want to be able to send/edit photo's with very little distractions such as learning to use a new OS.

Almost everything on the web supports Windows. And If you decide to go with Visa, you will find that it is easy to use. Browsing the web and downloading exe files is simple to do. If you are currently with windows, why would you want to change? You have all your current software that works with windows, do you really want to buy everything from scratch?

Its good to change, but in my opinion why would you want to change something that currently does everything you want it to?

kind regards

Fred

Edited by Fred

Interesting advice from a Linux hax0r Fred.