Earning Expectations & Arb Questions

Candshow

Hi all....

Me again, with more questions....

My husband is having an interview with the "big boss" this coming week with a view to us making a final decision regarding Oz or UK.  

Obviously part of this would be whether or not the salary offered is a good one....my husband is a project manager specializing in industrial concrete flooring.  He is currently earning 3,800 pounds a month - which if converted to AUD is about AUD7,000 - is that a livable salary?  It would be just 3 of us (and 3 dogs).  I understand it would depend on lifestyle etc - we would be looking to live in Point Cook, Melbourne.  

I have sent out my CV but have had NO feedback at all 😞  I am starting to panic that it might not be so easy for me to find work - or maybe it is easier when you are physically there....I am a specialized attorney - practicing in intellectual property law.  I see the jobs on SEEK so hopefully that is a good thing.  I have been only consulting though for the past five years....

I sent my CV to a recruiter in the UK & she had 4 interviews lined up for me within a week - eek!!!  Are Australians just really laid back?

We would be going over on a 482 visa - sponsored by the company - so I believe this means we would need to pay school fees & have our own medical aid?   Does anyone know what costs to expect in this regard?

I am so worried that moving to Oz will crush us financially 😞 I have heard horror stories where a well respected lecturer in Sydney who has lived in Oz for 14 years still cannot afford their own property - that freaks me out!  Also if on a 482 visa, could you purchase property?

Sorry for the arb questions.....the final decision must be made soon - just scared we make the wrong one....but I know either way we need to leave SA....