489 regional sponsored visa

Lili0905

Our Expression of interest has been approved and we can now apply for 489 regional sponsored visas. 

Anyone else who entered Aus on this visa? I'd like to know the max timeframe one gets before having to enter Aus on this visa. Also, any other advise on this visa type's requirements? I believe we'll have to live and work in the region of placement for four years. What then? Will we be able to apply for permanent residency?

Also...what are the chances of finding work BEFORE we leave SA? I'm an English teacher and my hubby works in the golf industry. Any reliable recruitment companies I can contact beforehand?

Upon approval of our visas, we'll be placed in NSW northern inland. I've googled the area somewhat...but it's all so overwhelming...don't really know what to look for or where we'll have to get started. I figure if at least ONE of us gets a job, it'll go easier to determine where we'll live etc.

Any advice will be much appreciated. 😀

Hello @Lili0905,

We are currently in Adelaide on a 489 visa, we emigrated 4 months ago.  If you search 489 visa on the forum, you will find our story in the journals section.

Albeit not the most ideal visa, it certainly is good enough - PR being the ideal, in my view.

I am not an agent, but from my limited knowledge, I can share the following:

• Your visa conditions will tell you that you will have to live in a regional or low population growth area - this condition you have to comply with.  To this end, you will not be permitted to live in any "big cities" except for Adelaide, Darwin and Hobart.  You can check the Home Affairs website for a list of post codes where you can stay on this visa type.
  • Once you achieve 2 years of living and 1 year of full time employment in one of these areas, you can apply for permanent residence, under the visa type 887.  You may not, however, move out of these stipulated areas until the 887 permanent residence visa is granted.