How do I know if my degree will be accepted?

Skapie

Hi everyone,

I need advise regarding who I can check with, to see if my institution through which I studied my PGCE, is recognized/accepted in Australia.

In other words, if I studied through Unisa this year, is it still accepted as a proper standard of education, and if not, which institutions are.

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

Hi @Skapie, I am no agent but I can tell you this as I have recently sent off my qualifications via my agent to Australia for assessment.  You will have to send your certified copy of your degree, certified copies of transcripts and course content and proof of minimum 45 days Teaching Practice to AITSL (Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership) to have your PGCE recognised under Australian standards.  Please note that your Teaching Practice must be completed as part of your PGCE and not after.  In other words if you are employed as a teacher and studying towards the PGCE, this employment will not be counted as Teaching Practice.  Also if you are claiming points for work experience, then you need to send an original letter from your employer/s to prove your work experience and to get AITSL to approve it. Also include certified copies of the bio page of your passport, birth and marriage certificates. Which phase did you study PGCE?  Hope this helps...feel free to ask for any assistance from forumites, everyone here is really really helpful.  AITSL website for more info:  https://www.aitsl.edu.au

Hi March2,

Thank you so much for your kind help.

I am actually in the process of enrolling for my PGCE studies, I haven't yet completed my studies.  

I have asked many a students' advice regarding which institution to do my studies with, and it obviously has to be long distance, and I've just about decided.