Taxation in Australia

JJR

Once I move to Australia, do I have to move my pension, annuities and investments to Australia and will I be liable to pay tax in Australia or can I choose to continue to have my pension paid to a South African bank account  and continue to be taxed in South Africa even if I am permanently living in Australia?  Also can anyone tell me how the tax in Australia compare to what is paid in South Africa?

I'm not a tax expert but I heard that you 1.) Have to make a formal application to SARB and SARS to inform them of your decision to permanently move to Australia. This will allow the two institution to flag you as a non SA resident for tax purposes. 2) Once you get both approvals, you then tell your service provider to liquidate your investments and send the money to Aussie. Here I understand you will be charged a tax (not 100% sure how much but it will be lower than what you would be charged if you withdrew the assets as a residence). Your net proceeds is what will be transferred to Aussie. 

As for tax in Aussie vs. SA, my high level research shows that tax is effectively lower in Aussie. Sorry can't give you more accurate info

On 6/27/2017 at 4:56 PM, JJR said:

Once I move to Australia, do I have to move my pension, annuities and investments to Australia and will I be liable to pay tax in Australia or can I choose to continue to have my pension paid to a South African bank account  and continue to be taxed in South Africa even if I am permanently living in Australia?  Also can anyone tell me how the tax in Australia compare to what is paid in South Africa?