New Here :)

MaraJade

Hi Guys,

I'm new here! My husband and I and our 1.5 year old son decided to take the plunge in January and start the migration process. I am a software engineer and my husband is in finance. So far I have a successful skills assessment from ACS and I got the required band score for the IELTS. We are now at the point of submitting our EOI. Our agent has recommended that we apply for the SC189 visa as well as the SC190 for NSW. Do any of you have any inputs as to whether it would be a bad idea to head for Sydney? I have heard the cost of living is insane but there is obviously more opportunity for jobs there.

Any inputs would be most welcome :)

Looking forward to being on this journey!

• Like 1

Hi @MaraJade, welcome to the forum community. Our circumstances are similar to yours, and we are planning to try Melbourne first. We compared Sydney and Melbourne with some care. The cost of living in Sydney is a good deal higher. Salaries are also higher, but not sufficiently higher to really enable the purchase of property. The weather in Sydney is arguably better, although we don't mind cooler weather. Melbourne looks to be the sweet spot, as it has a good supply of opportunities in both Software / IT and Finance (the latter evident from other posts), and property is available at a wider range of purchase prices.

It is a good idea to submit an EOI for both the 189 and 190, but even if you receive the 190 invite, you should consider waiting a little longer for a 189 invite. If you meet the requirements, you are almost certain to get one. The 189 frees you to live and work in any state right from your first arrival.

Hi @MaraJade,

Welcome :) Yes Sydney is expensive, but many work opportunities in Sydney. We live about 19KM South of Sydney in a beautiful place called the Sutherland Shire 'God's Country' some people call it....more specifically in the Cronulla/Caringbah area.