Work experience confusion

StrayaMate

Hi everyone! Hope y'all are doing well.

I am very confused about the work experience points aspect of the visa application process. I have always been an ICT professional, starting off as a Junior Programmer in 1999 and working my way up to Business Systems Analyst today. I have 4 years of "official" experience in the latter role, because I was appointed as a BSA 4 years ago. Which leads me to wanting to apply under the ICT Business Analyst job classification. But the 4 years of experience only gains me 5 points right now, which is fine. But an immigration consultant is telling me that I might be able to get 15 points. I can't quite make out how they would justify that considering that the work experience part of the visa application is so clearly defined, i.e. you have to prove that you've performed the job responsibilities in a specific role with a certain amount of years of experience. I can't see how my other 14 years of IT experience will contribute to the 4 years I've had as BSA if I have to specifically apply under the ICT Business Analyst classification.

Or am I getting all of this wrong? Can somebody shed some light on my dilemma? Because I certainly don't want to spend any money on an immigration consultant (or even doing this myself!) if I don't understand how it works.

Thanks everyone!

Edited by StrayaMate

A Charted Accountant can apply as a general accountant. For that, all you need is a degree in accounting. While studying towards a CA, most people work experience in a Charted Accountants firm. That work experience counts towards your VISA as you wouldn't not have gotten that job without a degree in accounting.  You might not have been a full CA then, but you aren't applying as a CA., while being a work experience kid you were doing a job you needed to have the skill of a "general accountant" to do.