Current 457 holder to PR pathway

Slater

Question

Hi 

I am hoping someone in the know can confirm that if you are in Australia working on a 457 that the occupation is no longer on the skills list, construction estimator, can still apply for PR in the future?

My 457 was approved in 18 January 2017. I have been living and working in Sydney since February. I am yet to bring my wife and children across as I wanted to see if the job was right for me first. On a 6 month probation. I was due to apply for my family (dependants) visas this week and then Malcolm Turnbull dropped the bomb. I would just like to confirm before I pay for visas and sell up everything and up root my family to bring them over here. According to the original statements made by government the PR pathway is still open to current 457 holders. Which is great. But then my migration agent phoned me on Friday to say that because my occupation is no longer on the skills list I am no longer eligible for the PR pathway. 

I hope someone may shed some clarity on this subject. 

Much appreciated. 

Graeme

• Like 1

6 answers to this question

@Slater I am going to highlight this question for our kind migration agents to reply @TeeTMI and @SD_MOA They may be able to shed some light on this for you.

Hey Graeme, I am not a migration agent but was also affected by the recent category removals.  I have been fortunate that the company I work for has supported me with further advice through one of the big four audit firms so is probably likely to be right.