The Search for a Job ;)

BarryHeyns

Ok, so we might be getting closer to the point of hearing good news regarding our 189 visa (Being a bit optimistic here..)

How do I go about starting the process of looking for a job? Especially when you are in the finance sector.

Obviously I realize sitting in SA and trying to find something is close to impossible, so I am more than willing to fly over and try my best, I would just like to know what the best option would be for this.

I know I need to get my CV sorted out first, so this will be done.

Do I need to work through Recruitment Agencies like we do here in SA?

Should I identify companies I would like to work for and approach them with a CV in hand?

I have never done this before, I am used to applying online and getting phoned by recruitment agencies regarding employment opportunities.

We would really like to live and work in Canberra, we like smaller cities and the outdoors

Firstly, flying out is a bad idea. Many big companies have a policy where they have to pay for flights. They are obviously not keen to do that.

Step one is to look on www.seek.com.au  and look at the job adverts. Find a bunch of jobs you could do and make it very clear from your CV that you have the skills they want. Take note of where they are, then use the public transport directions on google maps to find suburbs where you could live and easily commute there. Lastly, many jobs on seek.com.au won't give a salary... but you can search by salary range. Specify some suburbs you would like to live in on your CV. For example, you could include an objective (aka summry) staring with   "I am PR relocating on 2th June 2017 to the northern beaches". That makes it easier for a recruiter to find you a suitable employer. Ask around here if you can afford the suburb given the salary ranges you found on seek. Also ask if the commute is resonable.