Catholic schools for non-catholics?

Karools

Hi all!

I am a secondary school science teacher who will shortly be needing a job in oz, and I see the many catholic and anglican type schools there. I am a non-catholic christian and have some serious issues regarding some catholic methods and beliefs (not trying to offend catholics here, and really not trying to start up a debate on the subject). I also have children who will have to attend school in a couple of years.

My question: Do most catholic schools in oz enforce catholic rituals and methods on their students and teachers? Is it a viable option for me as a job or would it just be a recipe for massive frustration? Don't want to be too picky about looking for a job over there, and I hear lots of good things about catholic-type schools there. 

Obviously each school is different, but would like to get a feel for what I can expect.

A catholic school is fully catholic and celebrates all aspects of catholicism.  The application process usually requires a letter from your catholic minister and your baptism certificate.  Doesn't sound like it will be a good fit for you. Catholic school teachers also have to complete tertiary qualifications in Catholic Studies so they take their faith very seriously.

Even Christian schools require teachers to be practicing Christians with a letter from their minister.  The application forms often include questions such as tell us about your conversion experience, your involvement level and roles with your church, etc.

• Like 2

5 hours ago, RussellJ said:

What do consider rituals or methods that you are not comfortable with?

Don't really want to go into all that now and start a whole faith-debate which normally just turns ugly sooner than later. 

Thanx @RYLC, that then makes my process of finding a school a lot simpler.

• Like 1

Hi Karools