Pearson: Speaking section

CTtoAus

Hi all,

I need some advice.

I am writing my Pearson Academic test on Thursday and require 79 for all sections.  I worked through some of the material posted on this site and purchased the Gold Preparation package.  I just finished my second mock exam and while I scored well in the Reading, Writing, and Listening sections, I achieved an embarrassing mark of 46 for Speaking on both attempts.  Looking at the breakdown, this is due to scoring only 26 and 28 for Oral Fluency and Pronunciation.

While my first language is Afrikaans, I studied at an English university, my husband is English and I only speak English at work. I am really shocked that I scored so poorly, while I felt that I did reasonably well in the Speaking section.

I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced this with PTE and how it turned out for you?  Any advice on how I can improve my Speaking score?

The first time I did Pearson I scored 55 in the speaking section with all the other scores being high.  The second time I scored above 79 in all sections.

What I found was that my microphone was badly positioned.  I saw this in one of the youtube videos, on the microphone calibration step just before the test starts, spend some time on that step and read a couple of the sentences on screen (not just testing 1 2 3).  Listen to it and re-adjust the microphone to ensure there are no breathy noises, popping on your p's and t's or things like that.  This might address the pronunciation side of things.

Remember this is a computer marking, things like going back a couple of words if you think you made a mistake will hammer you fluency score.  Never ever go back, just continue talking, don't worry about sounding stupid a physical person won't be listening to it.

Imagine whilst doing the test that its Siri marking, would she have understood what you just said.  

• Like 2