Perth and Kalgoorlie - First Impressions

roo

Hi

It's 2 am aussie time and I'm up - must be the jet lag. Arrived in Perth on Saturday afternoon, where I was picked up by my long-time Aussie mate Rebecca. We went to her boyfriend's house in Joondalup. Matt is doing his house up on his own. He's a very DIY kind of guy - a carpenter by profession. I had a shower in his very unfinished bathroom, but after a 9 hour flight from SA it was wonderful not to feel "unwashed". Wasn't feeling particularly tired, because I had manged to sleep on the plane. It was quite chilly in Perth on Saturday and Becs and I took the dog for a walk on the beach at Trigg and also tried to look for a restaurant to go for supper later.

Two of the places we went to were booked, but we managed to get a reservation at the bennion street cafe. It's a BYO, so we went to the "bottle shop" to go and get some plonk. I remembered from my last trip to Aus 6 years ago that my favourite beer was John Boag & son premium. $16.99 for six, if you please. Ok, this IS more expensive than South Africa. Bought a bottle of red wine that was on sale for $13. $30 (R180) for six beers and a bottle of wine. Allrightiethen.

Everything was very civilised, the walking path, the rehabilitated dunes, millions of signs everywhere telling you what to do and more often what NOT to do. It is all a bit of a sensual overload to a Saffer used to unbridled chaos! But I didn't find it oppressive, or overly nannystate-ish. Also nice to be on roads where people drive carefully - and one can walk down the beach not at all worried about being mugged/attacked/murdered - was a refreshing sensation.

Went to go and pick up Matt and his son Jake and headed out to the restaurant. I was hungry because I'd only had breakfast on the plane and hadn't eaten anything else that day. Food was very nice. Cost wise, 2 courses in a seafacing restaurant in North Perth came to around $40. And remember that excluded booze.