From 457 to 186 - Options

Duggen

Hi all,

I am currently in Aus on a 457 visa which is great! Unfortunately my profession is particularly prone to retrenching people and as such I would like to get my PR sorted asap.

After doing a fair amount of reading on the Australia visa website, I am still slightly unsure of a couple of things. Currently there are three streams to the 186 visa, namely:

• The Temporary Residence Transition stream
    • This requires you to work for you employer for two years and your employer to sponsor you for PR. This may be an option in the future.
  • The Direct Entry stream
    • people who have been nominated by their employer under the Direct Entry stream - does not apply to me

• people who have never, or only briefly, worked in Australia - does not apply to me

• temporary residents who do not qualify for the Temporary Residence Transition stream - this is what my question relates to

• The Agreement stream
    • This option does not apply to me

So highlighted in red is the point that has got me slightly confused. Would this mean that if I meet the below requirements I would be able to apply directly for PR:

• Currently on a 457
  • Skill on CSOL list
  • Positive skills assessment
  • More than 60 points on the points test

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Paul

Edited by Duggen

Hi Paul

You are slightly confusing the employer sponsored and skilled independent visas below.

1 hour ago, Duggen said:

So highlighted in red is the point that has got me slightly confused. Would this mean that if I meet the below requirements I would be able to apply directly for PR:

• Currently on a 457
  • Skill on CSOL list
  • Positive skills assessment
  • More than 60 points on the points test

Assuming eligible you can apply for a Direct Stream employer sponsored visa (you would generally need a positive skills assessment and appropriate work experience) you do not need points.