189 vs 190 visa question

GonzoTho

Hi Guys

I have a question relating to the application for PR visas. I have read somewhere (can't remember where) that if you occupation is on the CSOL and you are invited to apply for a 190 visa, you then have to apply for a 190 visa and are not eligible for the 189 visa. One requirement of the 190 visa as far as I recall is that you need to work in the state/territory that has nominated you for a period of 2 years. 

My problem is that my occupation is on the CSOL, however, I would like to move to Melbourne and immediately start studying towards an MBA. I therefore only wish to use my current occupation (Civil Engineering) to get my foot in the door and then switch into a broader field. Are they willing to make exceptions on the rules regarding application for a 189 visa vs a 190 visa? I would very much prefer to study immediately upon arrival in Aus rather than having to work for two years first.

Hi

This is my opinion, and what I understand from what I read.

You only have to work on the work visa (example 457). You are not forced to work on a 189/190 visa.

When you receive a 190 visa, you are required to LIVE in the state nominated for 2 years. Obviously the state would like you to use your specified skills in the state, that is why they nominated you. But no one can force you to work on a 190 visa.

This is an extract from the website (https://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Visa-1/190-)

If you accept a nomination, the states and territories may require you to:

• live in the nominating state or territory for a specified minimum time
  • tell the state or territory your address, both before and after you arrive in Australia
  • be prepared to complete surveys and providing other post-arrival information they ask for
  • meet any of their other requirements

Hope this helps

Edited by Eduan

22 hours ago, GonzoTho said:

Are they willing to make exceptions on the rules regarding application for a 189 visa vs a 190 visa?