Agents - Worth it?

DMWOZZIE

Hi Everyone,

We're a couple from CT looking to move across to Oz within 12 months. It's a long process evidently but we're 100% committed to making it a success. 

I'm a former attorney, so paper-work doesn't scare me. I got a quote from an agent who quoted us R51k in professional fees, even though my cousin used them 18 months before and their family of 4 was R28,5k. 

It doesn't look like rocket science, just requires a lot of reading and proper understanding.

Questions 

1. Has anyone had success going their own route and if so, what tips could you give me?

2. When you submit an EOI, is it worth using the strongest candidate as the primary applicant rather than 2 separate? 

3. I am only qualified for a 489 but she is qualified for a 190 - if she is successful, will I get a 190 too? Talking about South Australia in particular. 

PS We are engaged but won't be married before we submit the EOI. Her skills are on the supplementary list of CSOL South Australia.  

If you plan to use your attorney qualifications to migrate, then I think you may have a problem. To my knowledge I think you have to be admitted in Australia, NSW, comes to mind from previous posts, before you can apply.

Edited by Mara

50 minutes ago, Mara said:

If you plan to use your attorney qualifications to migrate, then I think you may have a problem. To my knowledge I think you have to be admitted in Australia, NSW, comes to mind from previous posts, before you can apply.

Thanks Mara - definitely don't want to use my legal qualification. Problem is I am now in IT after a stint in property, so I'm not doing what I am qualified to do. Finishing my MSc in Property but again, strictly speaking not operating within that industry. 

Luckily my fiance has marketing qualification with 5 years experience. 

Edited by Mara