Teacher experience advise

HJL

I'm hoping that there will be someone on the forum that may be able to give me some advice. It's a bit of a long shot, but here goes anyway.  I'll be submitting my EOI at the beginning of September hopefully. Just waiting for my Skills Assessment to come back, then I should be ready to submit. I will be applying under Special Needs Teacher. I will have 3 years experience working in the Special needs field at the end of this year. I have another 10 years of mainstream teaching experience before I went into Special needs. Would I only be able to count the special needs teaching for points (which would only be 5 at the end of the year), or could I also include the mainstream teaching as it is 'closely related'? I will still have enough points without the mainstream experience, but obviously the more points I can claim the better.

Thanks in advance!

Hi, I would include all teaching experience.

Good luck!

• 1 month later...

I would suggest you get AITSL to assess your work experience as well because you will have a serious issues claiming work experience you cannot prove are "in line" with what you are claiming as your qualification :)

Also note that you can only claim work experience from the time you obtained your Degree or relevant qualification you are using - i.e. Special Needs Teacher.

Otherwise im sure you can use all relevant work experience on your CV and when applying for jobs in Aus ;)