Feeling despondent

nelus87

Good day all

I've been lurking around this forum for a couple of weeks just reading, and well I figured the time has come to tell me story.

A couple years ago, I think it was 2007, I went to a Australian immigration seminar during my second last year of studying and I thought I was 100% sure to be applying for a visa as soon as I graduated. Well fast forward 9 years and I find myself on this forum seriously wondering where the time has gone? I started re-looking at the requirements to get the ball rolling and all was going good, until a friend of mine, whom moved over to Aus last year, pointed something out to me which has me a feeling a bit despondent.

I was going to be applying for the 189 skilled visa with my nominated occupation being a quantity surveyor. My friend pointed out that a QS is Aus is actually that of a consultancy background and not a contractors QS which I have been working as for the past 7 years. A contractors QS is Aus is called a CA (contract administrator) which as you can guess is not on the SOL. It feels as though I tick all the boxes but am not needed down under. Has anyone been in a similar predicament of QS/CA?

It's is quite a expensive process to be thinking I am the correct type of QS as listed on the SOL only to find my application gets rejected some time down the line.

Thanks for listening to my whine

Cheers

@nelus87, not sure if you have your heart set on OZ, but a friend of mine went to NZ a few weeks ago and within days she had a job as a QS...they even applied for her work permit. According to her there is a shortage of QS in NZ.

Thought I just share that with you.

Good luck

G

• Like 1

@nelus87 i suggest to consult a migration agent to get clarity on this. That way you have a better chance of not wating money when aplying for your visa and being rejected. I can advise Migrate2Oz. I got my visa grant for 189 today so i know they get things done. 

• Like 1