Proving English Proficiency for Spouse

HJL

Question

This is my very first post to the forum although I have been following it for the past year and gleaned so much helpful information from it. Thank you to all the contributors! I am the main applicant for a 189 visa and am in the early stages. I've completed the academic IELTS myself and am about to send off my qualifications to AILTS to get that accredited.( I am a teacher).My question is whether it is sufficient for my husband to get a letter from his high school and university stating he studied in English to prove his proficiency? He obviously did Afrikaans as a second language but was at an English medium school. Will this still be acceptable? He also had one French module at university. Wondering if he should just sit the General IELTS or if the letters will suffice? Anyone who got the visas granted with the letters in a similar boat? Thanks in advance!

13 answers to this question

I am busy compiling all the documents now and realised that i haven't got anything to prove that i have functional English!!

Happy to see that a letter from my high school will suffice :) 

Are there any other documents required by a partner/spouse or de facto other than to prove functional English?

Hello HJL

i am at the same point in the process and my agent asked for exactly what you have mentioned for my spouse. We just got a copy of his transcript and a letter from the university to say his tuition medium was English.

All the best!

Thanks @MichKen. He wasn't keen on writing the test, so he'll be relieved. Sure we will chat again in the future if we are on a similar time frame. All the best to you too!

• Like 1