LSD trip to Sydney and Perth

BradleyC

Hi There,

We are planning a family LSD trip in August this year to Sydney and Perth. We are staying with friends and family in both locations, but do not want to overstay our welcome. Any ideas on where to take 2 young kids (5 and 8) for a couple of days around those areas?

I am a teacher and will also be looking at submitting my CV to a number of schools. Any advice would also be appreciated. Will (hopefully) have 189 Visa by then!

Thanks

I haven't done much touristy things with such little ones yet but I think these links might help

Sydney is easy.... So much to do

http://seesydneypass.iventurecard.com/sydney-tourist-attractions-2/

Perth on the other hand.... It's a great place to live, but not amazing tourist wise

www.cavershamwildlife.com.au

www.adventureworld.net.au

www.themaze.com.au

www.aqwa.com.au

I have never been to Perth... but in Sydney you can

1) Get on a ferry boat from Circular Quay to Manley. You spend a few hours on the "beach" at Manly and return. The view on the way is amazing as you go right near the harbour mouth.

2) Similar to 1) But you go to Darling Harbour, I think its somewhere near king street wharf. Then catch a river boat ferry to Paramatta. You travel up the Paramatta river. We normally catch it from Kissing Point park (as there is parking there). You land up in Paramatta and its a 15 min walk to the paramatta shopping centre. I would advise two things, Paramatta is busy during the work week. Also don't catch the river boat back as its another hour on the boat. Paramatta has a train station under the shopping centre. Your kids will be sick of river boats after the trip there. 

Both 1) and 2) can be done with an Opal card (the same way you pay for buses and trains). They are some nice cheaper options if the weather is good and your 8 year old has a smart phone.