Teaching Prospects

Odendaal

Hi all,

As some of you know, hubby and I moved to Australia (by the help and strength of this forum may I add) and we've been here for just over a month. I am a process engineer and he is a mechanical engineer. We were incredibly fortunate enough that one of us (me) found a good paying job on the west side of melbourne. He is struggling a bit but I have faith that he will find something soon. We also recently bought a car cash and we are currently living temporarily with family in east.

I never really enjoyed what I do (fair enough - I have only been in this industry - construction-  for 2.25 years) and I far more enjoyed studying in my undergrad. I studied part time last year (honours) and think it was the only thing I enjoyed about last year!

Thing is - you can't go on studying for the rest of your life: 1. It's expensive, 2. You become over qualified for any jobs out there. I thought that it was only in SA that I would not enjoy the industry but I'm not really keen on it now in Australia either :/ (now I am not ungrateful for my job - I wouldn't just drop it now because I don't like it). So I have come to the realisation that I'm not really comfortable in industry and thus I don't enjoy it. The reason why I don't feel comfortable is because I don't feel like I am technically strong enough to apply what I have learnt - and this is just the harsh reality =. I just enjoy learning, doing research and writing tests and reports (am I the only one!?).

And now after doing a bit of soul searching and researching, I am toying with the idea of persuing teaching secondary school (Maths and/or Science). I've checked at melbourne university, the course is 2 years and you need to have a degree in something prior to taking the course.

What, my fellow forumites, is your opinions regarding this move? I would, of course, only take this on if hubby has a stable income while I study. I may even work part time (who knows?!)