Getting a job with no Oz job experience

Flitz

Hello

From those that have found work how does one get a job without having any oz job experience ?

do you get work which you overqualified to do eg i am a accountant do i first have to find bookeeping or junior accountant work ?

Edited by Flitz

Interested to see what others have to say as we've just updated our cv's and are about to start applying for positions and not sure what we should we aiming for (both CA's)

• Like 1

My zimdollar's worth...

It differs from industry to industry and also for different employers.

The market in IT is about 75% contract jobs. At our company over 90% are foreigners and for most it is their first or second Aus job.

Contractors typically work for some labor broker or recruiting company and that company contracts a number of resources to the employer. They take huge cuts. Sometimes over 30%

Eg. Employer might pay recruiter 120k, recruiter pay contractor 80k. If you are cheaper and they can make more money off you, they will push your CV, but that gives you local experience, and some income while you build a new network and time to find the next job or convince them to pay you more.

It is a business. Bottom line is money. If they can get 10years of accounting experience for the price of a Junior, they'll take that.

Edit: They might even  employ you as accountant and expect you to do such tasks but pay you as a junior.

Edited by Jacques Voogt
Clarification
  • Like 3