Money money

Morneplumber

Question

So can anyone shed some light on how much Rands one will need to survive in OZ for say so two months, for one person? Then also how much will it cost to get me to OZ, Skills Assessment, English test, Expression of interest, Police clearance, Visa Application, Airplane ticket? The whole thing. So just a ball park figure for all the paper work involved and then a ball park figure on surviving in OZ in Rands for two months? I am a qualified plumber by trade and have been investigating this for months now and have decided to get the ball rolling in May 2016. I found this site yesterday and thought I would bounce my findings off of the people whom have gone through the process. For the paperwork I have come to a figure of so R95 000 and to survive in Oz in Rands I come to R50 000 say so 25k per month. Does this sound right or am I way off?

10 answers to this question

Hi Morneplumber,

Welcome to the site. Lots of knowledgeable people here to help you on your journey.

IELTS English Exam - R2,500

VETASSESS - R25,700 (2 part assessment)

Medical Check - R2,000

Lodging the Visa (190/189 Permanent residency visa) - R36,500

Police Clearance - R450 (R96 for the certificate, the rest is courier costs at Postnet)

TOTAL: R67,150

So almost R70k if the Rand doesn't tank any further.

I can't comment on the living costs in Australia only the application. I'm sure someone will be along shortly to answer that.

• Like 1

Hey DavePE

Thank you so much!! It helps loads to know more or less what I should pay. I had 2 migration agents quote me well into the 90K just for the paperwork side of things. Thanks boet!!

Hi MornePlumber,

The above costs would be without the assistance of an agent. The costs I listed above would be "going it alone" costs. I'm in the final stages of my application and I think it's very doable to manage the process yourself. This forum has helped immensely.

• Like 1