Hello from the North

PhatMyles

Hi all

I am a new member. My name is Myles. I am a Mining Engineer living in Botswana. I hope to be moving with my wife and two kids, who will be 5 and 2 at the time of applying.

I just started the process by writing the IELTS on 24th October. I am still awaiting the results. I am targeting a 189. I am doing the applications myself, no agent involved. I had done some extensive reading on the Australia Immigration websites, and was very confident, now having found this wonderful forum, I am sure that I can run with this.

So once I get the IELTS results, I will be getting Skills Assessment to Engineers Australia. I understand they have a fast track option, don't know how worth while that is. So hopefully I should be able to lodge EOI by January. Based on my experience and other factors, I believe I will lodge with 75 points, provided I get 8s in the IELTS.

The actual move will probably be in 2017 - 2018, when hopefully by then, the global mining industry would have recovered. I believe it would be great to have the visa by then, rather than try to get it then along with thousands of other Mining Engineers.

Anyway, enough for now. I am looking forward to a wonderful interaction on this forum with those who want to get there, and those who are already there, so that in the future I will be able to advise others as well.

Thanks.

• Like 6

Welcome to the forum! :king:

• Like 1

Welcome! It seems like you are well sorted, and actually quite relaxed. You are planning well ahead, I like that. ;) I did our application myself, 189 (Electronics engineer, with 65pts), and I had absolutely no problems.

Just make sure when you get your assessment form EA that you also get your experience assessed, since this seems to trip up some people. Aussie are very fussy about what they will accept, and you don't want to end up short after lodging your EOI.

But other than that, GO FOR IT!!! I wish you all the best. :)