Sydney Northern Beaches Public Transport

Geelslang

I am new to Sydney and have been looking at Frenchs Forrest, Dee Why or Forestville. Can anyone tell me what public transport options there are into Sydney CBD (meaning busses, as there are no trains).

Hi

We are in Frenchs Forest and there are loads of busses either into the city or to the Chatswood station which is a big interchange. Lots of people commute by bus to the city. Have you checked out the public transport site - 131500.com.au?

Thanks Malans. I had heard that there are privately run busses in the area. Was not sure if they would be covered by the transport app. Can one use the Opal card on all the busses from Frenchs Forrest?

It depends on the bus company. But the big bus company up there, Forest coach lines has the opal readers in most of their busses.

Google maps or 131500.com.au will give you directions.

But, listen to this carefully. I worked up there for 2 years.. It's another world up there. It's kind of like living in franshoek near Capetown or Hillcrest near Durban. The busses will get you to work in over an hour but they don't really operate much outside of work hours. So people don't often leave the beaches on the weekend.

So, the northern beaches are a different sort of crowd. I worked with a guy who moved there from a small town. He said it was quite the happening place. Everyone who lived in Ryde (closer to the CBD) thought he was smoking his socks. For example, there are two big shops in Ryde alone.. The only big shops on the northern beaches is Waringah mall.

But on the upside, you can join the retirees at the St Ives shops, go horse riding in terry hills and I hear the C3 church in Oxford falls is really good. The Supa Centa has a nice play area for your kids and a nice fake Asian take away upstairs. Waringah mall isn't actually too bad. Oh and you can join the retirees at the Glenn street theatre!