Newish!

eyeice

Sorry guys. I have only now realised there is a specific spot to introduce myself. I have been lurking in the background just reading all I can possibly lay my eyes on. I have oficially started my process. Hope to get my skills assessed before the end of the year so that I can lodge my EOI in the hopes that I might have my PR within a year from now. It seems doable. My occupation is on the latest skills list etc etc.

I am doing this without an agent. I am also under 30 and am doing this completely solo. I just figured... "if not now then when?"

Any of you out there who were or are in the same boat with regards to doing this solo? Something to calm the nerves, perhaps?

All the best to everyone!

• Like 2

Welcome officially, now that you are no longer lurking! Trust you will get many of your questions answered by our great forum members.

Hey, the process has been designed so that you don't need an agent. The Migration Agent Registration Authority even have a video on their website explaining about when you would actually need an agent. http://www.mara.gov.au

So, rest assured, it is very doable.

Some advise would be to request every document you can get from home affairs early on in the process. Things like, unabridged birth certificates for each person you include on the VISA, marriage certificate, proof of divorse, etc..

I would also always read the fine print. For example, for a b.com to qualify as an IT degree, it must have certain majors. When I applied, that was hidden in a several page pdf document.

Oh and live your life. Don't put your life on hold while you apply! The only change you need to make is to stop collecting a lot of clutter and to save a bit more each month.