RedPanda

Hi All,
I'm not an artistic writer, but rather a rambling chronicler, but I suppose that's ok.

My hubby and I have just come back from our visa activation trip, which we spent in Melbourne, the city we want to live in. We spent two weeks there, doing a few admin things and taking a second look around. (We also planned this trip in winter on purpose, since our LSD trip was in summer. We want to know what we're in for.)

All-in-all it was a good trip. But obviously not all of it was just good.

We activated our permanent resident visas, by entering the country. Then we activated our bank accounts, by showing up at our bank. We tried to register with Medicare, but they have a different definition of "residing" in Australia than DIBP has, so we were told to do that when we take the one-way ticket. Then we got our Victoria drivers licenses. That was basically the sum total of administrative things that we did. Tip: we got Aussie sim cards as soon as possible, which helped when filling out forms, and most importantly it gave us mobile data to run various apps and GPS navigation using our phones. We used Amaysim, which was by far the cheapest option for short term mobile data($2 sim, $9.90 for 1GB data that lasts 30 days), and it gave us good coverage for all the placed we visited. We did not venture farther than about 50km from the CBD.

But the experience is where the story lies. First, it was cold, it was :censored: cold! But we came with our warmest clothes, so we didn't die so much as just suffer slowly(they were warm, but not adequate for the Melbourne weather). I'm sure that we'll acclimatise within the first few years that we live there, but it is something we know now that we didn't know before the trip. And while we were sitting huddled together on the train we saw several locals wearing shorts/sportswear or t-shirts, so obviously now we also think the Melbournians are slightly crazy. :lol: