Finances while you "wait"

Scatterling

I wish I was worring about how to get my money out, without pissing off SARS, Zuma or the Banks.

I'm one of those poor buggers who is still in the que for a good few months wait.

I thought I could use this time to my advantage.

I created my own trend graph of the AUD/ZAR and noticed that between 2000 and (NOW), it has toggled between R4 and R6 for 1AUD a few times. It was recently at the worst ever, R6 (it does not follow the USD by the way).

Note: I am an engineer an not an accountant:

In the last two weeks it has dropped from R6 to R5.71 this equates to almost 5%.

If you are taking over R1M , this is R50 000 in the last two weeks.

I suspect that the Aussie drought may have some part to play in the recent decrease.

We could be heading for R4 FOR $1AUD.

Why take the rate at what ever it is when your VISA arrives?

It could make the difference between a 2 bed house or a 4 bed house.

We have some liquid cash assets and access on the bond.

(Yes, even after paying for skills, the agent and IELTS and ALL and ALL.)

I would like to use this to peg the rate.

The rest we get at "whatever", when we go.

Depending on how the trend looks I would like to purchase as I please.

How can I do this without a VISA or ticket?

Maybe our learned expats and "know-it-alls" could advise.

you could do any of the following, depending on your risk profile:

1. Buy bluechip rand-hedge stocks (e.g. Anglo, BHPBilliton, Angloplat, Remgro, Richemont, Sappi, SABMiller)

2. Invest in Allan Gray Equity Fund, which has a large exposure to rand-hedge stocks

3. Invest in Allan Gray Global Fund of Funds, a rand-denominated offshore fund that provides investors access to Allan Gray's, and its global asset management partner, Orbis', investment expertise. The Fund always holds at least 85% offshore.