WILL I FIND WORK?

Marcello

Hello everybody.

My wife and I have made the decision for the big move :)

We are a family of 4 so to be out of work for quite a while is a scary thought, My wife is a speech therapist here

in SA and I'm a self employed business owner. Now in mentioning the above I have been a business owner since

I left school so references and my CV would be a little sparse to say the least. I might have a lot of experience but

not Aussie exp as read in this forum. I am in the soft furnishing retail and wholesale trade with a few stores under

my belt. Would this carry any weight over there??

Regards

Marcello

Marcello, I did a search on Seek for "speech therapist" just for the past week, with the number of ads, across Australia, I would doubt that your wife would have a problem getting employment. So.. if at least one of you gets employment almost immediately, then that gives the other a breather to find one.

Here is my search link:

http://www.seek.com.au/jobs/in-australia/#dateRange=7&workType=0&industry=&occupation=&graduateSearch=false&salaryFrom=0&salaryTo=999999&salaryType=annual&advertiserID=&advertiserGroup=&keywords=speech+therapist&page=1&displaySuburb=&seoSuburb=&isAreaUnspecified=false&location=&area=&nation=3000&sortMode=KeywordRelevance&searchFrom=filters&searchType=

You could also look for jobs for yourself, and see what comes up. I am not sure where you would like to settle, so my search above was for the whole of Australia.

• Like 1

With a 3 and 5 year old of my own ( so I am moving in the toddler circles) I can tell you that speach therapists are in GREAT demand in Sydney. I cant remember if you have a visa yet, but needless to say, make your wife the main applicant, then you can work in any field you fancy.

Speech therapists seems to be coining it here. AT $165 per session, I cant afford speech therapy here for my son... In RSA he had it 2x/week.