Skilled visa validity.

Marcello

Hello everybody.
Just a quick question, It looks likes we are are eligible to apply for the skilled visa into Aus
well my wife at least,she is a speech pathologist. I am a business owner here in SA and would have
tie up quite a few loose ends before we make the move which would take some time. How long would the visa be valid for once approved does it lapse?
Could I make a trip to Aus say once or twice a year to renew it etc.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Marcello

The skilled independent visa 189 or sponsored 190 will be valid for 5 years with multiple entries. You will have an initial entry date to activate your visa and then need to settle in Aus before the 5 year deadline. After 5 years you will need to apply for a residents return visa, but can only do that if you have spent time in Aus.

Hey Marcello

The visa will have a couple of dates on it one of which will be a must enter before date. This date is determined by your medicals or police clearance certificates (whichever is issued/completed first) and is usually about a year from the date that the visa was granted on.

You have to enter Australia before this date to validate your visa and as far as I know there is little to no chance of getting this date extended. Once the visa has been validated you have a further five years after that to take up permanent residence in Australia. This will show on your grant letter as "must not enter after" date.

The visa validity can also not be extended. You either need to apply for a residents return visa or citizenship.

Thank you

Do we all need go to validate our visa or does just 1 of our family member need too

Thanks again for your reply.

Marcello

Everyone on the visa needs to validate unfortunately. Family Holiday?

Marcello,