Just starting out...

wallyengles

Morning/evening all,

My fiancee and I have decided that the time has come for us to jump the pond.

I did some homework and we decided to go with an agent due certain time constraints. We're going to be using Ray at Migrate2Oz, others here seem to recommend them.

As I said early days still, but I'm hoping our qualifications should get us both through. I'm a mechanical engineer and she's a teacher.

We've decided to go the independent route, so we'll be going over once we hopefully have our visas and looking for work.

Needless to say we are going the skilled emigration route.

Welcome wallyengles, I trust that all goes smoothly with your endeavours to join us all down under!

Good luck Wallyengles.

Be super organised and the Visa journey will be smooth and quick...

Thanks Reece!

The quick side is what I'm working hard to get right.

I have contract commitments until December. Other than that we're totally free to go the moment the process is done.

I'm aiming to be done and over in the first half of next year.

I've read on here about how the waiting is killer...but we're in this now and not giving up till we've got visa.

Yep, waiting around is a killer. Try to live your life as normally as you can until you fly out. Remember, once the paper work comes through, you can always fly here to activate your VISA then you have a few years to make the move. Don't feel pressured into moving here as quickly as you can. Once you have a VISA your future is secure... Even if you live in RSA for an extra year or two.

@monsta, both myself and my fiancee are fairly early in our careers (we're both only 24). So we'd like to make our 'start' that side sooner rather than later. Before we have more of a life that needs uprooting. Neither of us have ever planned to spend our lives here, so we've never really started building.

We are extremely blessed to have the financial go ahead to make the move happen.