Buying houses on 457 visas

Heather

For those of you interested, I am a Mortgage Broker (Bond Originator as some of you know) and I was asked to enlighten members on the forum as to how you can buy houses on 457 visa's. It is advisable first of all to go through a Broker as they will know which Lender to approach who will lend to 457 visa applicants (not all lenders do), you will need a 20% deposit, unless of course you are in the medical profession and qualify under the medico product, then they may look at lending up to 90%. You will need to obtain FIRB (Foreign investment review board) approval prior to your home loan being approved. You will need to educate your Real Estate agent, if they have not dealt with a 457 visa before, as they will need to make 30 days for FIRB approval as part of the condition and then allow for two more days for finance approval (32 days) as finance approval can only go unconditional once the FIRB approval has come through. However, some estates already have FIRB approval on all their blocks, if this is the case then there is no clause needed for FIRB approval and the FIRB approval from the developer is all that is needed (they will give you a copy which will be sent to the bank), I always advise my clients to make sure they follow the rules as you dont want to be at the stage where you are applying for your PR and they discover that you have not done the FIRB approval.